Putting a foot down

I discovered this morning that the reason I missed my bus-stop yesterday was because road works have put it out of use. So despite concentrating on where I was going I ended up at the same wrong stop this morning.

It's Monday and most shop-workers have the day off. But through the grilles of almost all the shops in the centre I saw signs saying 'A university town can't survive without Arthaud bookshop'. I tracked it down and discovered that an American investment company bought 57 Arthaud bookshops a couple of years ago, allegedly to invest in e-commerce, and has just announced that it is closing 12 of them in June.

As someone made redundant from publishing last July I am not at all surprised by the closure, but am impressed by the solidarity from other retailers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.