An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The sign says For Sale...

So it must be true! Gulp!

Came home from work and the sign was in situ. I was expecting it of course but it still gave me quite a jolt. In all the excitment of the new house, I think I've been burying how I feel about leaving this house....our home for the last 14 1/2 years.

Our previous house is two minutes from here and we bought it with the intention of having and raising our family there. By the time I was pregnant with Alan we had the house exactly as we wanted it. It was family ready!

Of course life rarely goes to plan and when Alan was born and then diagnosed with cerebral palsy 4 months later, we immediately knew that our much loved family home would not be suitable in the long run and set about looking for something more suitable.

Luck was on our side as this house was for sale and within 3 months of putting our other house on the market, we had sold it and moved here.

I will never forget the day we moved here. Instead of being full of excitment, I cried my eyes out at leaving our other home. Thinking back I was still struggling emotionally to deal with Alan's diagnosis and the move from my perfect family home (even though the house we were moving too was a million times better) represented another dream shattered for me, and for a long time I resented the move. If this house were a child, I think I would be described as failing to bond with it.

And now? Well going by how I felt when I saw that for sale sign, I'd say there's been a hell of a lot of bonding going on over the last 14 years. Our home has been our safe haven and has seen Alan grow from a one year old to an almost 16 year old! So many happy memories here.

Whilst the circumstances surrounding our move are different this time, and I cannot wait to be living in our new house. I will still shed a tear on the day we actually move and relinquish the keys of this house to the new owners.

Been singing THIS since I got home! :-)))

Oh and we have our first viewer tomorrow evening!!!!! Better go and polish the hampster! :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.