Journey Through Time

By Sue

Western Tanager

Okay, I'm going to put this up so that I will quit obsessing over birds for the day. They know when I go in the house and they all come to the feeders and water and then I sneak outside and they often fly off. Then I think, well, I'll sit here quietly with the camera, which did work for a series of shots of this gorgeous bird. But then I go inside and then they come back and I think...Oh! I'll get a BETTER one.... and so it goes. So, I'm going to show you this beautiful bird and then be done with this for the day. Sheesh. (Right now I see the Black Headed Grosbeak sitting out at the bird feeder, taunting me. No, I'm not falling for that, mister...no sireee!!)

Western Tanagers are, I think, one of our prettiest birds. This male has his summer suit on, with his reddish face and head, his bright yellow breast and bold black wings with yellow stripes. I have rarely seen them before moving to this house. Then a few years ago, one fine spring day...there was a Tanager in our back yard! And they have showed up every spring now, so I guess they are finding the "back 40" a nice place to nest.

A cooler but fairly decent day today. I thought it was going to be showery, but I haven't seen any. But it's a lot cooler and partly to mostly cloudy with hot temperatures expected for Mother's Day weekend. I have no idea what we will do, if anything.

Hair cut and grocery shopping today. That and stalking the birds, plus some housework is all I've done today.

Hope all is bright and beautiful in your neighborhood. See ya later, Blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.