Does the band still play?

I've been a bit seedy the last few days, and today was the longest run for a week. And even so I cut some corners on the way. Before reaching Auckland Domain I crossed Grafton Gulley by the Grafton Bridge. As I was doing so, the sun had just risen and I took a picture through the curved glass barrier ( blipfolio).

My route then took me down through native bush (indigenous forest) to the floor of the gully and across and up to Albert Park, where this band rotunda can be found. On previous runs through here in the morning I have seen Tai Chi being done in the rotunda.

But this morning there was evidence of someone having slept the night here. Relatively well set up, it seemed most unlikely that he would be far away. That it was a man became apparent just some seconds later. If the photo is looked at large, in the background where a couple of students are walking past to their early morning lectures at the nearby university, is a public lavatory. As I headed away, a man came out of the men's, still pulling up his track suit bottoms, beneath which was nothing but himself.

I suspect from the fact that he is sleeping rough, that the band stopped playing for him some time ago. I have heard it said that those who sleep rough have made a choice to do so. And well they may have made a choice. A choice to not have a roof, so that he can have food and clothing. Such a choice was rare when I first came to Auckland, and it is now too common.

EDIT: In response to ppatrick's comment, I have straightened the image a little. all else is the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.