Runhills

By Runhills

Disused Line

This is the track of the long disused Lytham branch line of the Preston and Wyre railway, which opened in 1846. It's now been filled in but was a deep cutting up to the mid sixties. Initially the trains had to go past the junction and reverse to Lytham but later an eastern loop was laid so they could go normally on to the branch line. When a new direct line from Kirkham to Wrea Green was laid in 1875, the branch became disused, except for a siding serving the Bradkirk Brickworks. You can see some pictures of the brickworks here.

The bridge in the background is where I was 'Waiting for a train' and took this blip.

I went to a 45 minute spinning session tonight and because it was such nice evening I thought I would go for a run as well, not influenced at all by the fact I hadn't managed to get a blip today! My legs were rather sore after last nights run and I was pleased to be able to stop to take a few pictures. This run is a regular route for me and I have always been interested in the history of this area, the brickworks have left quite a scar on the landscape.

I have seen the provisional results for last nights 5 mile Interclub race at Lytham, I was 44th in 32:15 and 8th counter overall for our club plus 3rd V50 counter. Not often I race 5 miles, last time I did this race was 2008 when I managed 30:56 and 43rd place, I'm not sure what this means, I'm obviously slower due to increasing age, the strong headwind on the return must have had a bearing but to be only one place lower is a bit strange. Has everyone slowed with age and did the weather take it's toll or did all the fast lads have some sense and stopped at home in the dry and warm?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.