Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Macro and close up photography

I went on a close up/macro photography workshop today in the gardens of Wallington Hall. This is a wonderful National Trust house and gardens if you have not visited it yet.

The light wasn't too bad, soft and dullish, but the wind provided all the challenges we needed. We spent the morning in the warmth of the orangery. There were many photo opportunities and the only problem was that other visitors headed for there to keep warm too. The plants tended to rock about in response to all the motion. After lunch we stayed outside.

I learned loads today. Must get a soft box. My piece of white card reflector worked a treat. I took this image without, but when the tutor held the card underneath the lighting was improved dramatically. I did lots of experiments with focus stacking too.

Phew! Early night tonight I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.