Journey Through Time

By Sue

Name This Tree - Update! Dove/ Handkerchief Tree

First of all HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY. And thank you for all your Mother's Day wishes to me. I've been a mom for 39 years and the mothering never stops.

It's a very warm/hot day in the Pacific Northwest and Bill is happily playing with dirt as he plants the things we bought yesterday. I'm sure he is about ready for a cooling break.

This tree is not far from our home and I walk by it a lot on my walking route. To be honest, this is the first year I've noticed the blossoms on this tree. They are quite unusual in their droopy fashion and when you look at the whole tree, it looks like little handkerchiefs hanging out to dry. I guess it is mature enough now to put out more flowers and to put on a bit of a show. I've never seen a tree like this before. It looks like a Dogwood tree, but my cursory search on the Internet has not turned up this tree under Dogwood. I know it's something rather special and would be considered a "specimen" tree. Anybody know what this is?

UPDATE: Lorenzo wins! Dove Tree or Handkerchief Tree (duh). Native to Central and SW China. The Dove Tree is the only member of its genus, but there are two varieties differing slightly in their leaves.

Nothing particularly special planned for today... Letting Bill do what he wants to do before another work week starts. The fellow that is out sick plans on being back to work after Memorial Day. He's had a tough go of it, being treated for cancer in his mouth and tongue, but we hope he will recover completely and get on with his life.

Stay well kids, and have a great rest of your day. See ya later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.