Robin at large

By Robin

Kiltwalk Speyside

Sunday was the day of the Speyside Kiltwalk with over 500 walkers. As one of the semi official photographers on my first assignment I was obviously eager to make a good impression.

I had a slightly dubious start s I could not find the departure point, so I missed the start. Woops! I eventually found the pipe band who had led off the walkers. Of course the walkers had already departed. So with the aid of four wheeled transport I was able to overtake them pretty quickly.

During the course of the day I took 532 photographs. Strangely although I got to the first check in point ahead of the walkers, for the rest of the day I trailed behind the leaders. I never saw the leaders again, I was forever meeting up with the walkers when about a third of them had already passed.

I did make it to the finish, but again, I arrived an hour late compared with the leaders. So much for mechanised transport. Most of the walkers looked very cheerful considering they had just walked 26 miles.

The day was very windy, and towards the end of the day it started to rain. It was a relief to return to shelter to find some food and warmth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.