Ichneumon Wasp

Or I think it is. 

It is apparently very hard to determine which family these wasps belong to. It all depends on whether a certain vein is present in the wing, and it's way way beyond my capabilities to determine that.

In the Superfamily Ichneumonidae there are only two families, Ichneumonidae and Braconidae. Ichneumon Wasps and Braconid Wasps are the largest group in Hymenoptera. Because of their parasitic habit, most of their life cycle details are still unknown.

Their larvae are either parasitic or predators. Most caterpillar are targeted host. Some species attacked other insects and spiders. The female wasp usually locates the food plants of the host then searches with her antennae for a suitable host. The female usually has the long ovipositor which is used to insert eggs into the host body. Some species lay eggs externally and attack the host from outside. The host will usually survive when the larvae is still living. Until the larvae fully grown, the larvae either pupates inside the dead host or form a cocoon outside. Larvae may be single or in group within the host.

No-one ever said that nature is pretty all the time.

On a completely different subject - this map thing is driving me mental.  I thought at least after the first time of seeing the entire world, and being placed in the middle of one of the smaller nations of Africa, it would at least retain some sort of memory as to where I actually am.  If it doesn't improve I'm not going to map any more.

And while we are at it, why can't I enlarge the text box like I used to be able to do, so I can check my paragraph placing and general layout?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.