Journey Through Time

By Sue

Look At ME!!

If I were a bee, I guess I would think that I have hit the mother lode of nectar, seeing this huge dinner plate sized hibiscus and that giant pollen laden pistil/stamen stalk reaching for the sky. Flowers are for us to enjoy, but they serve a purpose in attracting nectar eating insects and birds so that their species will continue. It's all about attracting attention. Look at me, this flower says. And that's so true with almost every living thing on the planet. Look at ME, I'm the best nest builder, I'm the most colorful peacock, I'm the strongest elk, I'm the biggest polar bear, I make the most money, I drive the fastest car, I wear the highest heels, the shortest skirt, the reddest lipstick...all so that you will pick ME!

Once, a few years ago, we were at a local Red Robin restaurant and there were a lot of young teens there, dressed up and it was apparent something special was going on so we asked the waitress. Eighth grade graduation for some school, and the place was full of these kids. Did they sit quietly and eat? No. Two or more girls would get up and go to the restroom, or visit another table or just walk from here to there. Boys did the same thing, but I remember mostly the girls. Giggling, whispering, laughing, strutting girls.....Fourteen year old girls.....LOOK AT ME! I am the prettiest flower in the room.

We do share some DNA with plants...I think it is the Look At Me gene.

A lovely day today. I went to another nursery that isn't far from us, and that's where I saw these HUGE hibiscus. Got a couple of things, came home and did a bit of planting. Iced tea time!

Hope the sun shines in your corner of the world. See ya later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.