Journey Through Time

By Sue

Hey, Iris, how ya doing?

At the end of our street is this Iris, which was so beautiful and now the wind and weather have most of the plant laying on the sidewalk. There was a gorgeous display of them, too. I was sorry to see them on the ground.

How many girl's names are there that are flower inspired? Hmmm
Iris
Rose
Petunia (Pig)
Violet
Poppy ( Actress Poppy Montgomery has sisters - Rosie Thorn, Daisy Yellow, Lily Belle, and Marigold Sun --- I kid you not.)
Daisy
Lily
Marigold - Really? That's kind of dumb, I think.
Fern...Does that count?
Heather
Dahlia (saw this on a list)
Blossom (saw this on that same list)
Jasmine

Any more? Yep, thought of actress Posey Parker..

I housecleaned today, but not finished...then again, is anyone EVER finished? EVER? I think not. Went to store...made some muffins, put fertilizer on my hanging basket, talked to my aunt on the phone, and made contact with a friend I knew in Hawaii. And boy, that brought back those memories of some fun times. He and his roommate lived across the hall from me in this apartment building. It was nothing but little studio apartments. They were in the Navy and I met them and some of their friends. They were all nice guys. We would visit and then we'd go out, of course, to their favorite bar hangout which was The Garden Bar in the Hilton Hawaiian Village. It was packed there on the weekends and there was a live band and dancing. Lots of service men drinking beer. I cannot hear the song "96 Tears" without thinking of that bar. We'd last seen each other 40 years ago when he and his friend went on a road trip and came to visit. He is from Woonsocket, R.I. Don't you love to say Woonsocket? What a great name for a city. He is now retired to S. Carolina. I love the Internet. He was on Facebook.

Time to contemplate dinner. I have cauliflower and saw an easy recipe that involves curry. There's a thought. For me only, Bill is not a fan. He can have something else.

A cloudy day with occasional sprinkles.. Did you ever watch "Partly Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs"? That was kind of a cute animated movie. I like kid movies, so shoot me.

See ya.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.