Welcome to Absurdistan!

By MildlyOffensive

U-Bahn München: 50/100 Lehel

Munich underground: 50/100 Lehel

I'm halfway through my strictly alphabetical Munich underground series now. Today's entry and the 50% completion milestone focuses on the bright white Lehel underground station. The station was opened in October 1988, just 5 month after the stop of my last entry, the similar clinical Laimer Platz stop. The white and yellow colour scheme is almost identical in both stations.

Because of its proximity to the Isar river and the location underneath a very densely populated area, the station is relatively deep underground and has seperate tubes and platforms for both directions (which is rather uncommon in the Munich underground network).

Similar to Königsplatz station, above Lehel station, too, are a number of museums. For that reason, there are several sculptures and showcases on the walls and platforms.

I blipped Lehel station before, but today's blip is more like my recent style (and better, I think).

Halftime then - and now to the sheer endless row of station, that begin with the letter M.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.