What shall I call him?

I've noticed that other feeders of creatures have names for them. I even have a name for one of the Steller's Jays. I call him or her (I can't tell which) Roger because when I first saw him maybe six years ago, he had two bands, a red one and a green one. I thought "Ro" for the red one and "ger" for the green one and his name was born. He is still around but the red band has fallen off. I still call him Roger though. Ger seems a bit off to me.

Well this is the same Anna's hummingbird I photographed on Christmas. He keeps coming by. And today he hung out at the feeder when I was out on the deck. I didn't have my super tele lens on but did have the high quality 70-200 and took this shot of him alighting on the feeder with plans to take a drink. So he is this winter's regular, at least so far, at the hummingbird feeders. He sure is a beauty. Shall I call him Anna Banana? Or Annie's Anna. Both seem a bit flip for such a handsome fellow. What do you all think?

It was supposed to be a quiet day today but you know how that goes. Turned out there were errands to do and Helena needed some stuff. So we picked her up around 1:30 and didn't get home until 3:30. She is resting now and staying for dinner after. I'll take her home after dinner.

I like the name "Anatole" and will call the hummer that from now on. Thanks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.