Arvin at the Table

In this photo Arvin is looking at the book I made for him on Shutterfly called "40 Years of Memories." I am happy to say the book is doing just what I hoped it would, reminding him of all the things we have done together. And of all our friends and family. It has been quite an adventure, shared by a great cast of characters, family and friends. He loves the book and I do too.

We've had a good four days without his groups but I am ready for him to return to his routine of taking the WTA bus to group in the morning and returning in the afternoon. He has a good time and I get time to myself which I deeply need. I am a bit of an odd combination of being highly social with a strong need for alone time. Before Arvin had Alzheimer's I could disappear downstairs to my study or out to my studio to create and be alone. I really can't do that anymore when A is at home because he can no longer do the things he did on his own. Sadly reading and playing the piano and guitar are not possible for him now. So when he is home I spend lots of time with him and I come up with things we can do, or try to. The folks at his groups do a better job at that than I do. It has been even more intense since he hurt his hand and I had to help him dress and do his morning and evening activities. I am ready for a break.

Oops. It is getting quite late and tomorrow is an early morning. No time for comments tonight.

Tomorrow I will be getting ready for our New Years Eve and A's birthday party. Don't forget you are invited if you live nearby. Bring something to eat and come on over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.