Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Bittern (again)

I can't say I'm over the moon with this shot.  It was one of those beautiful, bright, frosty mornings when it is lovely to be outside.  The downside is that someone had put the sun in just the wrong place to get a decent shot.  I managed to get into a position where it wasn't shining directly at me but I still managed to get a bit of flare.  Never mind.

I used the shot anyway because this is the last time for several years Bittern will be out on the main line.  The boiler certificate for steam engines on the main line lasts for 8 years and Bittern's runs out this year.  It can still run for another two years on private lines so as there is currently no shed availability it is off to The Watercress Line for a year or two before it is overhauled.  The work can take a long time so we won't see Bittern on the main line again for a while.

The upside is that there are some engines that haven't been seen for some time competing their overhauls so there should be some new ones to look out for next year.  I'll do my best to bring them to you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.