Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Who's There?

"C'mon, Zippy, I'm talking to you.  Pay attention."

Yes,  I've been having these close encounter conversations with my little buddy.  He seems to have found a new favorite perch.  This corner of this particular patio chair.  It's less than a meter from where I've been sitting in the morning since  the angle of the sun shifted dramatically.  (Sun in the eyes and all of that, even with the big visor.)

We I talk and he seems to listen intently, until like most people birds, he gets bored with my droning and flies off for a few minutes before returning.  And he does return, over and over, while I'm sitting there.  He doesn't even seem to mind the slow movement I make to pick up the camera and start shooting like mad each time he lands.

Of course, I'm doing other things in between sightings...computer or iPad, journaling, Luminosity, coffee...because he's gone for 7-8 minutes at a clip.  I've actually timed him and he's pretty predictable.

But I love our conversations.  It cheers me up in the morning and gets me off on the right foot for the day.  I hope it does the same for him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.