Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Happy New Year! (and two years of blips)

Happy New Year! I hope that 2015 will bring happiness and good health to you and your families.

Last night we celebrated New Year's eve at the same restaurant that we have gone to for the past 10 years. It is something of a tradition....we put on our snow boots and walk about 20 minutes to the restaurant, have a wonderful dinner, and then on our walk home stop off in the park where there is an amazing firework display. Fireworks seem to be sold with minimal restrictions here, so everyone buys them and sets them off. There are enormous rockets that explode over the sky with the snowy mountains in the background, it is quite a sight. I did take some photos (took my camera and tripod to dinner) but they were not great. I could barely carry my tripod home it got so cold and my fingers froze and eventually I could not change the settings on my camera as my fingers were just numb...hence the rubbish fireworks photos.

After the fireworks Luke and Adam headed off to a bar where a party was being held. They have many friends here, British kids who come back year after year like us and they have known them for years, and other local kids they have met. Gavin, Thomas and I then went to see some English friends who also holiday here and we had a celebratory glass of champagne before getting home at 2am. (Luke got back at 2.30am and Adam at 4.30am....but nice to know its all quite safe and they just walked back home)

This morning was the most beautiful day - bright sunshine and clear skies and it was not as cold as the previous days. None of us felt like getting up early so we only got up the mountain by 1pm and by then the slopes were very busy.

And of course, my 730 blip...two years of blipping, I never thought I would last a year but it seems I am still going strong. Thanks for all the support and encouragement over the past two years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.