Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Lees Hall Quarry

I am leading another walk next week - too many people away and no one else available to lead. Does make me wonder who will be there with me.........??

That aside, I went off this afternoon to walk a short section of the route as yet unknown to me. From the delightful hamlet of West Hall, I walked north to Quarry Cottage, then found the finger post pointing to Tercrosset. So far so good, but then there were no marker posts of footpath signs. My GPS told me I was exactly where the stile should be and it looked correct on the map and on the ground, but there was a barbed wire fence keeping me out. I found a gate, heaved to move a rock that stopped the gate opening and made my way to the farm.

The friendly farmer teased me for my lack of navigation skills, but was quite vague about where the path lay. He said they had never had any footpath signs on the farm. No surprise that the path is little walked then.

It rained all the time. I was hot, sticky and tired, so I made my way to Slack House Farm for a welcome cup of tea and an apple and sultana scone. Delicious.

Still have to solve the route for next week though.........

This image was taken in heavy rain at Lees Hall Quarry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.