Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Where are the black caps?

I went on a beginners' bird call day today, organised by the Wild Watch team of the North Pennines Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. It was very well organised and I learnt a lot. I liked the tutor who was not afraid to give his controversial views about conservation. He made me think.

After lunch we went into the woodland around the Langley Garden Station. This was our opportunity to see if we could identify all the 13 species we had heard in the morning session. The tutor said that it was ideal black cap country, but not one sang for us!! He regretted that prediction.

Most of the time we just used our ears, but here is one participant scouring the trees for black caps.

Arth did not enjoy the walk, but I did - enormously. I've had to dope him to shut him up!!

My letter to the Director of Social Services has stirred up action in Sunderland and there will be a Safeguarding Vulnerable Adults review for the people we are worried about there. (Not holding my breath, but I'll give them the benefit of the doubt for now.)

PS The answer to yesterday's quiz is sycamore. Thanks to all who gave an answer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.