Lunch stop at the bus stop

A very early start even for a morning person like hpx, all so I can circumnavigate Mt Sommers this weekend.

First thing it was cool with the tops shrouded in cloud. I started at the Staveley carpark, then across the south face of Mt Sommers via Hooky Knob.

I met a couple of hunters in the shelter part way across the south face. They'd just shot a young stag. I duly inspected the dead beast. It was magnificent even without its head. They do a lot of damage to the bush and I don't mind hunting when its a clean kill and someone is going to eat the meat.

I know this country pretty well and it never ceases to amaze me. The landscape ranges from open tussock land, shear buttresses and beech forest.

As I moved from the south to west face, the tail of southerly cloud cleared and it was hot. I lunched a the bus stop. Yes, some wag put a sign 'bus stop' on a rock buttress the track cuts beneath. You'd be waiting a very long time and then some.

This was my view looking to the south and back towards the plains. I'm not good at identifying Manuka over Kanuka, either way it was bee mecca up there. Good to see but I was mindful I didn't need a sting.

Well past Woolshed Creek hut I pitched a tent. Quite a bit further on, at the base of the saddle over to Pinnacles.

A brilliant day. I saw four NZ falcons and after 7 hours and 40 minutes, I was happy to lounge in a mountain meadow. Lemon chicken was on my menu.

I put the Father/Daughter light weight cooking set to the test. Mostly it did well and I learned a few things. It has its place.

You can't beat a night under the stars :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.