Look away now.

I'm sorry.  I really am sorry, but I had to post this blip.  This isn't the original Monny.  It's his brother, Sonny. 

Unfortunately Sonny has fallen prey to some sadistic little spider who needed a meal.

On the plus side, you can really see the underside of this caterpillar so clearly.   If you want more detail, I dare you to go large.

Luckily Monny is still chomping away eating us out of house and home.

I can't be too sorry about the passing of Sonny.  We have a lot more little 'pillars coming along, and there really isn't enough food for them all. There isn't anywhere they can be re-located, because as far as I know I have the only milkweed plant in the area.

Which neatly brings me to another point.

This is the first time I've ever grown milkweed.  What I want to know is, how do the Monarchs know that?  Does the plant send out some sort of pheromone that the butterflies can smell? Do they go by sight, and recognise this one plant in my garden - in 100 gardens - and home in on it?  

I saw a Monarch in the front garden this morning - it was huge; I swear it was the size of a small bird; the biggest one I have ever seen.

Nature is wonderful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.