Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Columbia River Gorge

After I got home from an early morning chiropractic appointment we decided we'd head out to the Gorge, we've not been for ages.  We stopped off at Crown Point which has amazing views of the gorge and the Columbia River, it's always a windy spot but today was the windiest I've ever experienced.  My husband opened the driver's side door which caught the wind and flew out of his hand and the contents of the car got sucked out - thankfully we were able to retrieve stuff right away before it went off the cliff.  The gusts were so strong they were physically pushing us and I could feel the air pressure in my ears.  

Two ladies asked me to take their photograph, I said I'd try!  They were great fun and said don't worry they just wanted a real image of the conditions, their hair was whipping about their faces and they were huddled together in t-shirts!!  It was hilarious.

We stopped off at Latourell and Multnomah Falls for walks and photographs before heading over the Bridge of the Gods into Washington where we had lunch at Skamania Lodge.  I had a very delicious and very rich salmon chowder, hubby had fish & chips.  

I am working with a new camera today - it arrived last night - a Ricoh GR.  I took a bazillion pictures today on various settings to see how it did.  Lots of scenic shots, interior shots, and street shots, but I chose this silly one of me literally holding onto my hat in the gale while waiting for hubby to unlock the car at Crown Point as we were laughing so hard.  

The new camera is going to take some getting used to, no zoomy lens, but lots of cool features (that I'm sure I won't use half of) but I do need to spend some quality time with the manual as some of the exposures were a little off.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.