Lincoln Harris

Over the last couple of days I have been writing about my journey around an accident that happened 58 years ago.  I also mentioned that I had been blessed to meet the most caring, talented and skilful dental surgeon, Dr Lincoln Harris.

After journeying together for just over six months it is now time to head home to the Blue Mountains, but I am delighted to introduce you to Lincoln via my blip journal.  There's no doubt about it he is my Tooth Angel.  He has produced a miracle for me and I was happy to let him know that today in no uncertain terms.

I felt Lincoln was special from the moment I met him and recently I found out that he has been happy to share his gift by volunteering his services to the less fortunate in Cambodia.  Cambodia is a very poor country where this type of dentistry would be well out of the reach of the vast majority of the population.  Imagine having the skill and will to "Gift a Smile" in such a way.  Lincoln's work reminds me so much of another wonderful organisation that I have had the good fortune to be associated with.  Interplast works in a similar way in the form of Plastic Surgery with volunteer medical teams working in the Asia Pacific Region.

As well as operating on the dental patients Lincoln spends much of his time training the local dentists so that they can carry on performing the procedures when he returns to Australia.

In October 2011 I had the good fortune to accompany an Interplast Team as a Rotarian Observer in Fiji.  I was overwhelmed by the extraordinary work that was carried out by the team and will never ever forget the experience.  Those images will live with me forever.

My heartfelt thanks go out to people like Lincoln Harris.  Dental and Medical practitioners who so generously volunteer their skills in such a loving and caring way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.