Who me?

You want to know what I am? I'm the blip star for today, not because I'm a rare bird, but because until now Skip has never been happy with the pictures she has snapped of me. In case you don't know, I'm a snow bird...officially I'm a junco, one of the dark-eyed ones...and I'm a winter visitor to Skip's back yard buffet. I'm small. I hop around on the ground under the feeders, picking up seeds dropped by the other birds, and Skip thinks I'm cute. I hope you do too because this is my best pose.

This picture was taken through the open kitchen window, but even that was too cold for standing there more than a few minutes. I still haven't warmed up from yesterday's walk in the park. Thank you to all who commented on my two day series of "freezing and frozen river blips." The river is even more frozen today. It looks like spring is a long way off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.