Skip's Blips

By Skip

What a difference a day makes!

Compare this picture with yesterday's blip. They were taken at the same location one day apart, but difference is striking. Compare...
- the quality of the light
- the ice (or lack of it) on the river
- the evidence of wind (blowing and drifting snow)

Yesterday's blip is much more pleasing to my eye, while this one, taken this afternoon, is not much to write home about. I'm not posting it as an example of a good picture, but just to show how the weather, which wasn't great yesterday, has deteriorated. Can you tell that from the picture, or is it just because I was out there freezing my buns off (as the expression goes) that I am aware of the inhospitable conditions? The wildlife apparently was aware of it. There were no deer, no turkeys, almost no birds, and no dog walkers.

However, just as I was ready to head home for a warm cup of cocoa, a group of giggly teenage girls pulled into the parking area, unloaded their sleds, and headed for the sledding hill. I'm wondering how long they lasted. The wind was fierce and the feels like temperature was negative two degrees Fahrenheit. For that matter, what in the world was I doing out there? If the weather gets worse, tomorrow's blip may be an indoor one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.