Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

When seeing hurts

I've mentioned over the last couple of days that I've been having problems with my eye.  It's been painful and red and over the last couple of days has swollen down to my cheek.  A small dot was forming deep down inside my eyelid.  Today the small dot became a large yellow blotch, the pain spread across to my ear and jaw, glands were swollen on my neck and jaw.  Just looking at things hurt to distraction.

My colleagues suggested I try and get a GP appointment however they couldn't see me.  They then suggested I call NHS 24 but apparently that now only works out of hours.  So by about 6pm, my lovely friend K offered to drive me to the walking wounded at the Western.

The walking wounded receptionist asked the nature of my problem and got a nurse to see me immediately.  The nurse looked at my face, briefly discussed the problem and said I needed to see a Dr.  Call to NHS 24 and I was given an appointment 2 hours later at the unscheduled care clinic at the Royal Vic.  We killed some of our wait drinking tea in the RVS cafe and catching up on life before adventuring to find the unscheduled care clinic.

I was triaged by a lovely nurse practitioner, the Doctor was busy but she discussed it with a colleague, they wanted a look too.  Eventually seen by the GP who has prescribed a medicated ointment for the infected cyst.  It may go down, it may *ahem* pop!

Feel rough, the whole right side of my face is now painful from the infection, the poking and my glands.  A medicinal whisky then the other medicinal gunk in the eye and now off to bed.  Hoping to see some improvement soon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.