Journey Through Time

By Sue

Tiny Bird

Today, at our home in Foggy Bottoms, the fog never lifted.  My aunt, recipient of the winds from the east, found out it isn't always a bad thing, as the sun was shining in Gresham.  I cleaned the camera lenses, got out the tripod, put on my coat and decided to try, really try to get a decent photo of something that didn't look out of focus to me.  These little guys came in to attack the suet and birdseed, and they are so darn cute and entertaining and I was happy to see them.  They are all fluffed up to keep them warm.  

I had my 6 months checkup and cleaning at the dentist.  The dentist doesn't even see you anymore, if there is nothing too wrong.  My hygienist, whom I adore, does a great job but she is making her plans to retire in a year or so.  She promised me she'd be there in 6 months so it's not goodbye yet.   She's been cleaning my teeth since I started with this dentist after we moved to Vancouver 17 or so years ago.  I thought she was just in her early 50's, if that, as she has natural brown hair, little grey, and a daughter that I heard about growing up and now at Oregon State studying to be an optician.  One of my other visits, perhaps the last one, I found out she was in her early 60's.  She didn't have to tell me to open my mouth, because I think my jaw dropped.  And I always learn something from her.  Did you know that saliva contains minerals that help to protect your teeth?  If we didn't produce saliva, we wouldn't be able to have teeth.  And as we age, we can produce less saliva.  Also some medicines can cause a dryer mouth.  Dental hygiene has been Kathleen's life...she knows a lot about that subject and I usually find out something new from her.  

And that's all the news that is fit to print from Foggy Bottoms, Washington.   Bye!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.