Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

Who you lookin' at?

I was out walking this afternoon, watching the ducks and geese in the pond.  I just happened to look into the tree above me and spotted this little hawk.  This little guy is a male American Kestrel, sometimes called a "sparrow hawk".  They aren't very big, but they have the amazing instincts of other raptors.  We watched each other for quite a few minutes until he spotted his dinner, silently swept down and picked up his prey and flew off.  It was so sudden that I did not catch a shot, but breathtaking! 

He was high in a tree when I took this photo, so it is seriously cropped down.  I hope the cropping didn't loose too much detail and isn't too grainy.

Hope you had a great day and a wonderful evening! 

JP

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.