Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

Cold, gray day

After a beautiful day yesterday, the clouds moved it and the temperature plummeted . . . again!  I managed to take a short walk and captured this dormant wild tree.  It seemed so lonely and cold.  That was perhaps because I was starting to get really cold. 

So, what to do with a gray tree with gray hills and a gray sky?  First I heighted the little bit of contrast that was there using Camera Raw.  Then I converted it to a jpeg.  I then used Nik SilverEfex to convert this gray image to black and white - in essence pulling out the structure and detail a bit more.  With that image, I layered another high key black and white over it to bring up the highlights a bit more in the frost on the grass tips.  Then over all of that, I used a copper filter to add just that little touch of color. 

We did hear from the buyer's agent today.  They asked us to make some repairs to the fascia boards over the garage, fix the downstairs' fireplace damper handle and get the roof certified.  We have until Monday to reply with what we are going to do.  But in the meantime, I spent several hours on the phone with various contractors lining up for estimates and work.  Our general contractor told me that he would come and fix the fascia boards tomorrow and paint them, so that will be taken care of.  The roofing contractor that we had talked with before gave us the roof certification we needed,, so that is two down.  And I have a fireplace contractor lined up for Monday morning to make the repairs to the damper.  Whew!  What a day!  So, instead of responding to their requests with what we are going to do, we will be able to respond to them about what has already been done.  Then, the only thing left is for them to get their loan papers in order, then we can close on the house.  Closing is scheduled for 1/29, but they might be willing to move it up. 

And in the meantime, I continue to pack, through out, etc.  Honestly, I am exhausted and am really looking forward to packing up the truck on Wednesday and getting out of here!  I really miss J and the pups.  Soon. 

Have a great weekend everyone! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.