But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

From Traprain Law.

I've been fascinated by Traprain Law for many years now, so when I found myself looking for somewhere to walk Merlin near here, I jumped at the chance. I had been toying with the idea of arranging a guided tour for our U3A of this old hill fort and the seat of local government two thousand years ago but, now that I've been there, I realise that it would go down like the proverbial lead balloon unless I can find a knowledgeable guide. There is virtually nothing of historical interest to see with the un-tutored eye up there, but it is well worth going as the views are stupendous. This is the view from fairly low down to the west; the low winter sun made for very contrasty lighting that called for some imaginative post-processing.

There's a notice in the car park that dogs should be kept on leads as there is a small herd of Exmoor ponies used as land management tools; when we found them, Merlin just wandered over and made friends with them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.