Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Ceramic Blip #1

Today was a day for an emergency blip. I tried some photographs of the snow in Edinburgh but the best bits were as I was driving home so I just deleted the ones I had. I tried the dog once I was home but he looked rabid and not at all like the gentle guy he is. I've decided that in an emergency I'll turn to my ceramics. I have lots of lovely bowls, plates and jugs. I like to buy a wee bit of pottery when I'm on holiday, or sometimes just for fun. Only one or two are what could be called valuable but they all mean something to me.

This little jug belonged to my grandmother and was always in her kitchen. I think my uncle bought it for her with his pocket money which makes it from the early 1940s. It certainly has that look, but wouldn't have been expensive. Maybe from Woolworths? I was clearing out her flat when she moved into a care home at the grand age of 92 and decided to give it a home. She was notoriously careless/clumsy with china so it's amazing that it survived un-chipped and in one piece. I'm glad to say I've managed to keep it safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.