Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Much Loved!

This morning, at 10.30am, The Mother, FredaH, lost her fight to live  and won her right to die quietly in the company of a daughter who loved her so much.


The hospital called me but told me to have breakfast and a cup of tea before I went in. They judged it just right, I got there at 9am and sat with her, gently singing her favourite Spiritual Songs in the privacy of a side-ward. The sky was blue and the sun shone for her!


I know I will miss her dreadfully but, she needed to go. Life has been difficult for a few years but particularly over the last six months. I never thought on 18th September, when I got the call saying she was going to hospital that she would never get back out into a care home.


This is her much loved and very worn Philip, Lord Wharton Bible given to her from his charity when she was 14. Along with it is her constantly worn and dearly loved gold cross and chain which had belonged to a friend of her mother's. She has worn this cross daily from the 70s until she went into hospital. The bible's condition shows how much it has been read.


On Monday I will have many people telling me how much loved The Mother was. She had wisdom that friends of a wide age-range respected.


Thank you for all your supportive comments over The Mother in almost six years I have been writing about her in my journal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.