By Himself

By Himself

End of a bright day

A bright, clear day coming to an end at Altar, near Goleen on the Mizen. Rain moving back in.

Derelict Thursday round-up

Although I said we world be doing this on Saturday, it will be easier for us to do it now.
Here is what we will do...
We (Herself/Freespiral and me) will both list our favourite entries on our journal pages for today and award our five 'hearts'. We have not discussed who we will select so there will be some added interest to see how our different preferences work out - we may, or may not select the same entries.
For my own selection, I am choosing 5 entries that appeal to me in different ways. This is just a personal selection and, for me at least, there are no winners or losers in the challenge.

Hosting the challenge has been very interesting so far and I have discovered, and subscribed to, some new blippers whose journals are new to me. I have been unable to work out how the entries are ordered in the search results, there seems to be no logic except for the date, but new entries have popped up in different places in the sequence as they have come in.

So here is my selection of favourites, in no particular order...

Without Judgement by ElectricFish
As ElectricFish admits, it wasn't the best image technically, but the abandoned room with its peeling wallpaper and shelves still holding belongings, is typical of some of the places we have blipped ourselves. The photo on the mantelpiece is so poignant and ElectricFish's words struck a chord - it often feels like an invasion going into homes like this.

The Elvian School, revisited by Inverculain
Ideal subject for a wide-angle, with the vertical distortion adding to interest of the image. The light is beautifully dramatic and the whole scene is a perfect example of dereliction.

Derelict Thursday by sandyshore
Another entry from Ireland. A very simple and understated image with no description, and it doesn't need one. There is a subtle story suggested by the image and I really like the linear elements of the gate and doorway contrasting with the creepers feeling their way up the walls.

You can't - by soletrader
Purely a choice from personal nostalgia - I learnt to drive in a Morris Minor. The vehicle is such an iconic shape and this image somehow captures everything that was special about that. The light and shade falling on the rusted bodywork, with the touches of mould suggesting the return to nature just resonate with me.

Frisson of excitement by muddyshoes
I don't always like this type of treatment but I think this one works to give a feeling of light and to emphasise the dereliction. I also like the description of the bold adventure after a feeling of fear.

Thanks to everyone who entered, and to SarumStroller for starting the challenge. We will be hosting for the next few weeks while he takes a break.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.