Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Another birthday

Although this is blip, today was not a blip birthday, but my actual birthday, 63 years old today.

I've been at home all day, preparing for a dinner with friends. We should have met last Saturday, but Brian was recovering from his gall bladder operation.  He ate well tonight and I hope he will be OK afterwards.

There were 7 of us. Just after the 5 arrived, Mum rang her bell from downstairs and I popped down to see what was happening. She had taken quite a tumble and was stuck on the floor. The moment before she fell, she removed her emergency buzzer, thinking she did not need it when we were all together for the evening.

I'm glad there was no one making a video of me, as I juggled drinking champagne with the guests, putting the starters in the oven and lifting Mum from the floor. She has lots of bruises but no signs of broken bones.

Then it was on with the evening. I'd bought crackers and they were covered in glitter which transferred to all our clothes, faces and hair!!

PS The photo was taken in our garden. It's a branch of a cherry tree and the bark has striped away, leaving beautiful curls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.