Capital adventures

By marchmont

Still snow

An excellent night's sleep, on the sofa.  I was so tired. Lay and listened to the radio until it was time to get up.

It was still freezing cold outside and no sign of the snow shifting.  The usual fry up brunch and then the Southampton 2 arrived.  Their flight had been cancelled last night, due to the awful weather in Glasgow.

I discovered I'd left my boots at home so it was off in flats.  I'd have been better taking the train yesterday and bringing the baby stuff over later. But that's hindsight for you.

it was my year to choose and the first event for the TMSA Young Trad tour in the Concert Hall.  Excellent, Taxi to Stravaigin but that wasn't so good, exceptionally slow service and under par food.  just as well we enjoy talking to one another. And there were a number of spills, water over the table, red wine over Cathy, white wine over Carol and I did my usual flip about the tip.

Then we walked, slipped and slid up to Oran Mor for concert number 2.  Different style but also good although the seats are so uncomfortable. 

And then a taxi back to slide on foot up the drive before some pink fizz and bed.

Good day but life is hard for Y and G at present - just over a year since Isla died, Doll has been in hospital for 6 months and has to be moved this week to a care home and now Dave, her son, has had a stroke. 

But we have things planned for this - Ruby weddings, 60th birthdays, 40th birthdays.  Friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.