Ars gratia artis

Okay. I could have used one of the bird shots I've taken today but I decided that you deserved more. Apart from a shopping trip I've been hard at the marking but I still took time out to make sure that you were given a real treat my amigos in the Bliposphere.

I know that many of you will already have spotted what this is but for the few who are not versed in the classics............. it is the assassination of Julius Caesar in Act 3 of Shakespeare's play. It is re-imagined using Haribo Golden Bears and, for the culture vultures amongst you, is based around Brando's Mark Antony (1953, with James Mason and dear old Johnny Geilgud). Even here I'm sure you'll note that Geilgud is a practised Shakespearean theatrical actor in his first big film while Brando and Mason know less about the Bard but know about the process of making a movie. 

I've taken some artistic liberties, not least using colour when the film and original play were in black & white. Shakespeare working in mono because colour wasn't invented for another couple of hundred years.

So there it is. A bit of high art to enliven your weekend. A cultural speedball if you will. If time allows I may use these guys to recreate the major scenes from The Scottish Play and post them as a triptych. That's something to look forward to isn't it!      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.