Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Resuming Normal...

After a couple of days of non-wildlife/bird shots, I had to return to my happy zone today.  I set out this morning for a walk through a favorite local spot (Largo Central Park Wildlife Preserve) and was rewarded with the usual suspects (ducks, waders, and warblers).  But the one that got my heart pumping a bit faster was this beautiful osprey who was gathering nesting material and carrying it to a platform across the lake.  The limbs and branches he was carrying were, in some cases, longer than his wingspan, so it was pretty impressive to see.  Here, he circled right over where I was standing, almost as if he was showing off his prize.  I cropped this by about 10% and otherwise left it alone.  (Settings:  440mm, F/8, 1/1250, ISO 280, handheld).

Five other shots from today starting HERE - couple more osprey, two anhinga and a great egret after a scuffle).

I am forcing myself to sit at my desk this afternoon and finish sorting and cataloging my pics from AZ.  During my 3 1/2 days there, I saw 67 species of birds, one each of rabbit and hare, and four rodents.  I'm still on a bit of a high about the avocets, stilts and roadrunner.  I think the next time I meet my parents in AZ, I'll go to Tucson and explore Ramsey Canyon and Sierra Vista.  

Hubs is out for a bike ride.  Tonight's dinner will be a kale caesar salad with chicken.  Tomorrow, I may head down to Fort DeSoto early.  We'll see...

Phoebe is adjusting to being an only cat, but it is clear that she misses Rocket. We will eventually get her a companion, but most likely not until we know where we will be living.  Then again, we may get one sooner ... there is a big hole in our little family where Rock used to reside.  Many of you know Berelaxed and know about the passing of her beloved black cat, Max this past Saturday.  I would like to think that Max and Rocket are in some other world now, curled up in a spot of sunshine.

Ciao...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.