Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Third time unlucky?

Here is my oldest guitar. Almost thirty years old, in fact; my mother and uncle gave it to me for my 11th birthday. Despite being your average sort of nylon-strong folk guitar, it served me well for many years.

... Then came my daughter. xP

The first breakage was through her knocking it off its stand - breaking the neck joint to the body (and revealing the details of the guitar's construction, which includes pieces of dowelling xP ). Buckets of PVA glue got it all back together and playing fine - though with a bit of buzzing.

Second was occasioned by her seeing and hearing a number of other musical instruments, and, it would seem, being taken by the cello. Consequently, she decided to play my guitar like a cello. Lacking the required bow, she improvised - with a plastic toy broom. That time, the result was the fretboard, with headstock attached, peeling away from the neck like the lid of a sardine can. Oceans of PVA got it back together, and playing better than it had even before the first break. xD

A while back she broke a string. I didn't have any strings, and it took me ages to get around to buying some. Then it took me ages to get around to putting them on.

I did so yesterday morning....

This afternoon she was playing around with the guitar, but after a while just stopped. I didn't think anything of it, but some while later I went down the back of the house, where I encountered such a sight as to freeze the soul.

Or something.

The worst thing is that she didn't tell me. :-/

Anyway, buckets *and* oceans of PVA shall be applied, in hopes of yet another resurrection. I'm just not sure sure how hopeful I am.

View the big break.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.