Dog-Sized Barking Deer

I heard that a barn owl has been seen every evening recently at Amwell Nature Reserve. I got there yesterday at 4:00 pm and sure enough barny flew in at 4:30. I was so excited to have got my first shot of a barn owl in flight that I left my bag of lenses in the hide. Luckily there was nobody else about and they were still there when I remembered and returned. The light was very poor and my shots a bit rubbish.

I returned this evening. This time I shared the vast White hide with a nice man who have met whilst togging before. Barny turned up at at about 4:20 and we got lots of shots. I tried various settings but am still not happy with the results. We were both transfixed by the beautiful owl though. "Poetry in motion" he said. I think we'll both be back. We need a bright cloudless evening.

At least I got a shot of a nice little Reeves's Muntjac deer from the hide. The glands under its eyes used for scent marking can be seen.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.