The Patient

I woke up with sore knees, agonising ankles, a headache, snotty nose, cough and feeling generally bluuuuuugghhhh!
All I wanted was to snuggle under the duvet, go back to sleep and wake up in a few days feeling better.
Unfortunately for me Miss E also woke up feeling a little under the weather and - despite her protestations and tears - I decided she should stay at home in the warm and try to shake this lurgy off.
Which meant I spent the day watching My Little Pony and Scooby Doo (and watching her play on the iPad) administering Calpol (she asked for it practically hourly and when I refused rather disturbingly shrieked "But I NEED it! Why can't I have more NOW?") and generally being at her beck and whinging call.
I tried my best to be sympathetic - she was genuinely feeling a bit rubbish - but I must admit my reserves were pretty low. At one point I may have whined back at her "I feel just as poorly as you, you know"
Oh dear!
I've packed them off to bed early and hopefully she'll wake up feeling a bit brighter and will be able to go to school.
Where she won't be able to feed her Calpol habit*

*She's had 5ml every four hours today which is half the dose for her age. Just in case anyone's worried.

** I've had a couple of Lemsips (one lemon and one wild berry) and a couple of Nurofen.

*** And a few too many spoonfuls of medicinal Nutella.

**** Bloody sisters in law buying enormous vats of the stuff. With my name on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.