Country Church

I dithered today, wasn't sure about this shot but thought I would go with it anyway......it will be a record if nothing else.

It was the first trip away from my garden with the lensbaby and the first architectural shot, I can see plenty of room for improvement. Perhaps the composition isn't quite right, perhaps I should've just focused on one part of the building rather than the whole thing, but I do know it was rather close to me in the lens and I had quite a walk down the road to get this shot. I did enjoy taking it and I'm sure more will follow.

The Maori Church of St Stephen was part of the Maori Mission established in 1859. The foundation stone for the kauri church was laid by Governor Sir George Grey in February in 1867. The entrance tower and steeple were designed by Dr A G Purchas, known as the 'architectural' Vicar. The church can be found in the small rural settlement of Tuahiwi and is still open for monthly services. 

Grocery shop with my mum, walkingS, and a stroll along the banks of the Kaiapoi River, it was overcast and humid and as I type the sun is beating down, it's hot - tea outside again tonight.

Happy Wednesday everyone :)

Lensbaby, Double Glass Optic, Aperture 4

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.