Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Landscape Photographer of the Year 2014

Today was my day to leave the family and move myself to a hotel for a couple of days in central London. 

The train took me to Waterloo, so I had the perfect opportunity to view the Landscape Photographer of the Year competition winners.  I quite like having the exhibition at the station, because lots of people were coming to look. The snag is that some of the photos on boards are too close together so you can't easily stand back to view them.  Well done too all those whose images are included.

To my hotel for a rest and to nurse my cold.

Then to the National Theatre tonight to see Dara.  This is a fascinating play about the power battle between Dara and Aurangzeb, two of the sons of Shah Jahan.  They were adherents of different forms of Islam so their power battle was also a religious one.

The start of the play is slow and it is hard to identify all the characters, but it settles into a better pace. The court room scene is completely absorbing.  It is well worth seeing if you have the opportunity. The set and costumes are wonderful too.

I'm back blipping - playing catch up during this busy week in a busy city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.