Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Camera confiscated!

Today I nursed my cold in the morning, then set off to see the Conflict, Time, Photogaphy exhibition at Tate Modern, my first visit there.  I particularly liked Sophie Ristelheuber's Fait, a collection of photographs taken following the Gulf War. They fill a large room from floor to ceiling. Some are close ups and some are large landscapes but without scale you cannot immediately tell which is which.

I walked on along the South Bank and visited  Southwark Cathedral. Today's Blip is from there and is the memorial to  John Trehearne:


An Epitaph upon John Trehearne, Gentleman Porter to King James the First.
Had kings a power to lend their subjects breath Trehearne thou should'st not be cast down by death, thy royal master still would keep thee then, but length of days are beyond reach of men nor wealth nor strength or great mens love can ease the wound deaths arrows make, for thou hast these in thy kings court good place to thee is given wence thou shalt go to kings court of heaven.

His wife looks a bit sour faced.

Thence to London Bridge underground via the Globe Theatre and the journey to the O2 arena for Molly's concert.

The choir for the evening comprised over 7,000 children -  yes, thousands not hundreds. They were in a state of high excitement after an afternoon of rehearsing and the volume of screaming and shouting was overwhelming.

I  had the idea that we would hear individual school choirs, but I was wrong.All the children sang all the songs in unison followed by more loud screaming and shouting...... I know that I am getting old......

The enthusiasm was palpable and we took a very happy Molly home on the Tube. 

Oh, yes, here is the RANT!  My camera was confiscated on my way into the O2 because the lens was longer than 50mm.  Apparently they don't want any photos where children could be recognised, but there were iphones, compacts and bridge cameras aplenty.  If I thought that making it impossible to photograph the children would protect them I would be in agreement but it's nonsense.  (I have my suspicions that the commercial DVD on sale might have something to do with it.)

Rant over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.