Learning day by day

By EmmaF

London Eye

So Carys and I were in London at 09.30. I grabbed a coffee at St. Pancras while she was absorbed listening to an older gentleman playing on one of the piano's that are at regular intervals around the station. We then sat opposite Eurostar arrivals discussing what we could do with the day when a Eurostar arrived. We got up and were watching people great each other and I had just asked her what she would do if she saw someone she knew and she had replied "I would stand still and wave at them." when she launched herself across the concourse to give O a huge hugs. It was lovely to see her so surprised and happy to see her friend.

After the obligatory ablutions and standing in line for left luggage we headed off to Waterloo, which amused O or possibly more G as that is where they had set off from this morning (the Belgian version). Carys was made up when she realised we were going on the Eye as she has been asking to go on it for about three years.

The 4D experience was great and there was hardly any queue for the Eye itself. It wasn't the best day as far as clarity was concerned but all the obvious landmarks were visible. I hadn't been on for about ten years and I enjoyed it, although I was holding on tight as we went over the top and I didn't look down.

We wandered along South Bank taking in some of the entertainers. I was about to despair of finding somewhere inside to sit down and eat, when we happened upon the BFI restaurant. Well I will be going there again. Kids eat for free with an adult, nice adult menu, nice ambience and friendly waiters.

After lunch we walked further along South Bank and on to London Bridge before heading back to Hitchin where the girls disappeared to play and we had a good old cuppa.

Will had a great time at Nanna's and did well at his violin lesson. Still not quite ready for the bow but has lots to practice before his next lesson, after half term. He still isn't 100% I don't think, but not as bad as yesterday.

G and I managed to stay up talking to 11.30! We could have continued but tiredness got the better of both of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.