Another one from my list

Like yesterday's yellow warbler, the red-bellied woodpecker is another bird from my list of blirds-I-want-to-blip-in 2012. Happily I have several portraits of this bird that make me happy. He's not one of the elusive ones, but I put him on the list because I don't see him often, and his appearance is striking. In today's blip you can actually see a bit of the red belly that gives him his name. I think this is a male becaue the red color on his head goes from his bill to the nape of his neck, but I am no expert on sexing birds, so don't take this as for-sure-correct.

Our lovely spring weather took a turn toward chilly and cloudy today, but I don't think it will last. Sunny and 80 degree weather is forecast for later this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.