Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Smile please.......

It has been a good weather day.  I did a supermarket shop this morning, plus a few purchases in the town centre. Glad I'm well enough to do it, although it's not my favourite activity.

After lunch, I drove to the church of St John Lee near Acomb. There are lots of interesting gravestones and the churchyard is carpeted with snowdrops. The church, for once, was open so I had plenty of photo opportunities. As I was heading for the car, this delightful retired farmer came past on the other side of the wall.

He was born and brought up on a farm here, but, as the youngest son, he had to find farm work elsewhere. He was at Tow Law and then another farm, even higher on those rather bleak moors, (sheep and cattle).

In the past, he trained his own collies, then bred Jack Russells and Westies. Benji is 12 years old and was very keen to be in on the conversation. I could swear he knew the words "smile please"!!

So all well, but I came home to news that a friend's family may be facing a recurrence of cancer.  You never know what life will throw at you from one day to the next (cliched but true).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.