ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Daisy Days.

We woke up this morning to an absolute scorcher of a day - it was shorts-weather by 9am! M, A and I pottered out to the garden and enjoyed the sun with a cup of coffee while Fin slept in his buggy. By the time we were hungry, it was just about lunchtime, so we put on the BBQ and M cooked up sausages, burgers and corn-on-the-cobs for us all, while A fed the baby and I heated up the leftovers from our tapas feast last night. We had an enormous amount of food (but that's OK - we didn't have breakfast!) and just sat enjoying the sun, watching the butterflies and bumblebees fly around the garden.

We had promised to cook tea for M's Mum and Dad, so in the afternoon we reluctantly peeled ourselves out of our deckchairs and made our way back to Aberdeen. M and I prepared lamb tagine with tomatoes, honey, sultanas and apricots - one of those lovely recipes where everything goes in one pot, which then gets thrown in the oven on a low temperature for a few hours... Plenty of time to sit in the garden with a cold beer while the hot tub heated up!

After tea, the whole family and associated partners (myself included) fell asleep on the sofa for an hour, before getting changed into swimmers and piling into the hot tub. I've sung that tub's praises plenty of times, but I will never, ever get sick of the wonderfully relaxing feeling of sitting back, gazing at the stars and counting bats while the warm water eases sore muscles (and sunburn, in my case!). The smell of the woodsmoke from the boiler is beautiful, and every time I smell a woodburner now, I think of sitting in the hot tub. Sunday perfection!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.