ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Lions' Teeth.

The common name "dandelion" may come from the Greek word leontodon, which means lion's tooth; or possibly from the old French word Dent-de-lion or from the Latin dens leonis, both also meaning lion's tooth or teeth.

Had a small incident at work today involving a key sticking out of a desk, which I walked straight in to, slicing my thigh. I'm sparing you a photo. I'm not sure if it was the pain, shock or general ick factor of the injury, but I felt pretty sick and dizzy afterwards, so I headed home for a sit down and a glass of water.

A few hours later, when I was feeling better, M and I drove to asda for our dinner-ingredients via the beach. It was lovely and warm, even at 5pm, so we had a tub of ice cream watching the kids swim in the sea (Aberdonians are made of hardy stuff!). We decided to make the most of the sun and have a BBQ with M's folks for tea, so we drove home and sat in the garden where M's Dad cooked us burgers and chicken wings, followed by strawberries and cream. We didn't stay late as it's M's last night in Aberdeen tonight, and his flight is at 7.20am tomorrow... One of my other friends has a partner that works offshore on a 3-week rotation too... in her words: back to my other life for 3 weeks.

This offshore thing is a funny business, but I'm getting used to it now. Having two lives actually makes things interesting; it's never boring and it means I appreciate completely different things when M's away and when he's here... Not to mention how I'll never, ever take him for granted when he IS here! Back to (insert generic government department) tomorrow... In a bright mood and ready to attack my new role.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.