Wairaka

This statue is of the Maori maiden Wairaka, who gave the town of Whakatane its name.

When the migratory canoe Mataatua arrived here, the men went ashore leaving the women in the waka (canoe). When the waka began drifting back to sea, the women were afraid. It was Tapu for them to touch the paddles - against the law.

Wairaka, the captain's daughter, was not about to let them perish at sea. She took up the paddles and cried "E! Kia whakatane au i ahau" (let me act the part of a man). Soon the other women followed her lead and they were saved.

Whakatane means 'act like a man'.

Princess Wairaka is situated at the mouth of the Whakatane river and the Pacific Ocean and always has a seagull sitting on her head - wonder if they take turns. Here the sun is setting after a lovely calm, warmish day.

Many thanks to you all for your kind words, Mum and I arrived safely in Rotorua meeting my aunt and cousin, had a picnic at Lake Rotoma on our way to Whakatane.

Its been a great day and now I must head away and have a cuppa with my mum and aunt - this image was my aunts pick :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.