The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Oh minstrolling in from the sea

This is the view from Steve's study window this morning: mist over the Golden Valley in Stroud.

When I was a teenager and Mull of Kintyre topped the charts for eight weeks, I saw the video of Paul Mc Cartney and Denny Laine strolling around the M of K with their guitars (closely followed by the Campbeltown pipe band) and assumed that the lyrics were "Mull of Kintyre, oh minstrelling in from the sea" since they were obviously wandering minstrels! Later this morphed in my mind into "minstrolling" which isn't even a word!

I read recently that the Oxford Dictionary for children has removed some basic nature words, such as 'acorn', and added some new IT ones.
How do they now define Cloud? Discuss.

I'm damn sure that 'minstrel' is no longer included, unless it refers to those flat chocolate sweets with a crunchy coating, made by galaxy. Now, is that a thing in the sky, a chocolate sub-division of Mars (the chocolate company, not the planet) or a people-carrier? What is a people-carrier, anyway?

Enough nonsense! I've not been feeling great today, with symptoms of the common cold, particularly affecting the brain. Not slept well for nights, because of night sweats. I went to the natural health shop for advice and was told to take sage leaf capsules. This is handy, because I've already got them but had quite forgotten why I was taking them, some years ago. They're still in date, so here's to better sleep!

We are off to Dorset tomorrow. I checked my online banking today and found that I'd paid the WRONG credit card last week, putting money into a card that had an in-credit balance already! It is turning out to be very complicated to remedy, and I've been advised not to use my credit cards for the next few days. Whaaaat? I'm going on holiday!

For the past couple of years I've spent this half-term weekend at the Cheltenham folk festival, in the creche. Sadly, the CFF is no more, having turned into a series of evening folk concerts only, because the council could no longer afford to subsidise it. I'll miss it. I won't be spending my nights and mornings in a small attic room in a hotel, watching the Brits scooping gold medals for snowboarding at the Winter Olympics, and riots erupting in eastern Ukraine. Tomorrow we shall be in Thomas Hardy's Casterbridge, aka Dorchester.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.